Main Page

From Ccliwiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Mit.gif Cmu logo.png Ksu logo.jpg




Contents

Analogy-Based Simulations:

Introduction

This section contains materials produced for the NSF Course, Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement (CCLI) -funded Phase 1 project, "Interdisciplinary Virtual Labs for Undergraduate Education in NSDL MatDL" (DUE-0632726). The code was produced for the project by Arthur Barnard and Colin Ashe.

Software Compatibility

All of the code on this site was developed using Java Se 5 and is included below. The virtual labs links contain all the standard files that might comprise a Java applet or application as well as a few extra things that are specific to Netbeans when appropriate.

If you are having difficulties viewing the applets, you can determine whether you have a compatible version of the Java Runtime Environment installed on your computer at the Java Tester site .

The virtual labs require that you have installed Java SE 5 or higher. If you need to download, you can find the latest version at Java SE Downloads. Please select Java SE Runtime Environment (JRE) from the list of downloads.


Activities and Learning Modules:

The following are course materials designed for use in four different classes. For visitors not enrolled in one these classes, we recommend you view the CMU 09106 materials, since these are the most complete. (The other courses use subsets of these materials).

UW-Madison Chem109 Virtual Labs
KSU 40060 Virtual Labs
KSU 11030 Virtual Labs
MIT 3.091 Virtual Labs
CMU 09106 VirtualLab



Course Syllabi:

Massachusetts Institute of Technology:

Carnegie Mellon University:

Kent State University:



Particulate Level Simulations

Introduction

This section contains materials produced for the NSF Course, Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement (CCLI) -funded Phase 2 project, "Collaborative Research: Recurring Patterns in Molecular Science: Reusable Learning Resources" (DUE-0817493). The code was produced for the project by Colin Ashe, David Yaron, and Aaron Slodov.

Software Compatibility

All of the simulations in this section can be run in the Adobe Flash Player within your browser.

If you are having difficulties viewing the simulations, you can determine whether you have the Adobe Flash Player plug-in installed on your computer here. If you do not have the necessary plug-in installed, the page provides links to locations where it can be obtained and installed.


Activities and Learning Modules

Inelastic Collisions
Evaporative Cooling
Brownian Motion
Chemical Bonding
The Maxwell-Boltzmann Distribution and Collisions
Osmosis and Gas Partial Pressures
Populations of Energy States
Simulations to Teach Simulation



Project Information

Project Personnel

David Yaron, Deparment of Chemistry, Carnegie Mellon (email: yaron@cmu.edu skype: david.yaron1)
Jodi Davenport, Department of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon (email: jdavenport@cmu.edu skype: jodi_davenport)
Michael Karabinos, Department of Chemistry, Carnegie Mellon (email: mk7@andrew.cmu.edu skype:mk7_cmu)

Laura Bartolo, Materials Informatics Lab, Kent State (email: lbartolo@kent.edu skype:laura.m.bartolo)
John Portman, Department of Physics, Kent State University (email: jportman@kent.edu)
Aaron Slodov, Materials Informatics Lab, Kent State University

Don Sadoway, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, MIT (email: dsadoway@mit.edu)
Craig Carter, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, MIT (email: ccarter@mit.edu skype:wcraigcarter url:http://pruffle.mit.edu/~ccarter)
Colin Ashe, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, MIT (email: cashe@mit.edu skype:colin.ashe)
Arthur Barnard, Materials Science & Engineering Undergraduate, Cornell University (email: arthurbarnard@gmail.com)

Project Meetings & Documents:

See Meetings & Documents

Help Using this wiki

Consult the User's Guide for information on using the wiki software.

Personal tools